hotrods and handcuffs

The Blues Jean Bar #2

Leave a comment

The Blues Jean Bar is about the greatest thing to hit “subscription boxes” since the OG of monthly subscription boxes, Birchbox. BJB, as I affectionately call it, is the most personalized and attentive clothing styling service around. You pay $1 to start and then complete an in-depth style profile and a lovely person from BJB picks out four to five outfits just for you! To top it off shipping both ways is included, you can keep your clothes for ten days to try on, and there are no monthly membership fees, purchase minimums, or hidden catches! Normally I’d say this is all too good to be true, but I promise you – it’s the best thing ever!

My lovely stylist Marnee, communicated with me about what I was looking for and exactly what sizes/styles worked for me. My first box was a little off on sizing (largely my fault), but this box hit a home run – outta the park! In full disclosure, I was given a credit to use towards a pair of jeans, but I loved some other things and spent my hard earned money on those as well! Without further a-do, here’s what I received (and I apologize for the bad pics, I was sick, and going out in the sun for a pretty background was outta the question!):
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything is packaged so beautifully and thoughtfully! The amount of effort that goes into the BJB boxes amazes me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
1) BJB Sleeveless Laser Cut Top ($60) with the Blu Pepper Woven Jacket ($42)
I wanted to love the laser cut top when I saw it but it ended up just not being flattering on me 😦 The jacket was in a cute cut but just not something I’m looking for in summertime.
2) Joe’s Libby Blouse ($151) with Fidelity Lily High Rise Jeans ($185)
This shirt was too tight on me, and sheer. Sheer shirts are so in right now and I don’t get it! I liked the jeans but they were a bit big on me.
3) Benjamin Jay Dallas Graphite shirt ($63) and Joes Skinny Auria jeans ($173)
This shirt was so soft and amazingly comfy. However, it was a very long tunic length and the only way I could pull off wearing it was at shirt length and all the extra fabric around the middle didn’t flatter me. Joes Jeans are some of the most comfy jeans around but these were too thin for my liking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
1) Joes Abigail Lace Blouse ($173) and Pact Nude Camisole ($31) with Fidelity Rev Jeans ($179)
The fact that a company sent out a camisole with a shirt that they knew would need a camisole underneath it was enough for me to completely appreciate even more the service BJB provides. It’s the little things guys, and BJB just gets it! Unfortunately though, the lace blouse just wasn’t doing it for me!
2) Tees by Tina Black Smooth Tank ($38) with Red Engine Ruby Narrow Bootcut Jeans ($187)
Winner winner chicken dinner! This tank, despite how simple it is, is money! Super stretchy and soft and the perfect staple piece to be worn on its own or under other items. BJB couldn’t have paid ME to send it back! The Red Engine jeans were the second favorite pair I received! I liked them but didn’t love them enough to keep them.
3) Blu Pepper Woven Khaki Shirt ($88) with Henry & Belle Super Skinny Jeans ($142) and Spirit Leatherwear Artisan Belt ($96)
Oh be still my heart. This shirt made me oh so happy, I only hate that it’s too hot to wear it here until the fall. I couldn’t let it out of my hands though. And my oh my, these Henry & Belle jeans went on smoooooth as buttah and made me feel super skinny! Top it off with my trusty pair of cowboy boots and I was in heaven!

I also received a black Lady Jeans top in a size up from the one I got in my last box. This here is why I believe that the customer service at BJB is the best. They actually read your feedback! I told Marnee that I loved the top but needed a bigger size, and she sent me the larger size! It ended up still not working out for me but that specialized attention and effort puts BJB ahead of the competition for sure.

Overall, I ended up keeping the Henry & Belle Jeans, the Tees by Tina black tank, and the Blu Pepper woven shirt.
*SALE ALERT* I loved the H&B jeans so much that I went online to their website and saw that they’re having a huge sale! Some jeans are as low as $30! Plus, when you use code “Extra25” you’ll get an additional 25% off the already super low sale price. You really can’t beat that!

After all of that I sincerely hope you check out BJB. I’m sure every stylist they have gives great individualized attention but Marnee is my girl, she’s awesome! Let her know that I sent you and reap the benefits of all the great clothing options she’ll send your way!

Leave a Reply

