hotrods and handcuffs

Golden Tote (May 2014)

Leave a comment

As a long time Stitch Fix loyal I normally just stuck with one clothing themed subscription a month. However, I’ve recently been disappointed with the quality of my Stitch Fix boxes, and actually didn’t keep anything from my May box. I had always eyed Golden Tote each month but when it came down to it I didn’t have it in my budget to purchase multiple items from Stitch Fix and Golden Tote. Well, since I had a little extra $$$ leftover from my lack of Stitch Fix success, and I fell in love with some Golden Tote items, and just couldn’t say no. I even splurged on the $149 tote!

Every month you can choose from a $49 or $149 tote. In the $49 tote you can pick one item you want and you’ll receive one or two other surprise items. For the $149 tote, you pick two items and you can get three or four other surprise items. The surprise items aren’t other options, they’re completely secret and you won’t know what you get until you receive your tote!

Here are the two items I chose from the $149 tote:
easy-embroidered-maxi_1    embroidered-kimono_1

The embroidered maxi dress is absolutely heavenly. It’s normally hard for me to wear strapless dresses but the embroidered top on this is very well made. I love the color of the bottom part of the dress and the length is great too. I went crazy over another embroidered item this month, the embroidered kimono. This item is great for a summer cover-up, and would look great styled simply, just as it is pictured. The fabric on this is super silky and soft too. Both items are very high quality and I looove them!

Here’s the surprise items that I received:
10363369_10152156296597549_2683508069777275825_n 10371715_10152279526984962_4814772189429401966_n
The first tank was by Under Skies and was a sheer navy with a white flower-type design. The neck was weird for me and it just didn’t work with my body style. Thankfully, it looked awesome on my neighbor (who happens to be the lovely photographer when I have “real” photos), and she now has another shirt in her wardrobe!
The second shirt I fell in love with immediately! I love love love dolman style shirts and this one was right up my alley. The chevron style print was fun, the colors are great, and I love how it’s fitted at the waist. I’ve actually already worn this shirt twice since I’ve opened my tote!

10401496_10152156296252549_3563510860397110814_n10422601_2436358593665_3898900922694312462_n
The first dress was Priddy by Puella. I actually really liked the shift style and it surprisingly looked pretty good on, but my tall frame made it much more like a tunic shirt on me and I just won’t wear it that often. It is currently waiting to be traded for something else.
The second dress was by Hem & Thread. It was a multicolored pattern with a little bit of blue and yellow. It was a thin stretchy material that kinda fell in a fit and flare style. I actually just traded this for a shirt through a Golden Tote Facebook swap page. I’m excited to get something else that I’ll wear in exchange for this item that I won’t!

I loved most of the items I got and it made the $149 very much worth it. Sneak peeks have come out for the June totes and thankfully I don’t love any of the items so I should be able to avoid purchasing! Check out Golden Tote and see if you just have to have some of the items for June. You can also purchase past month’s items in the boutique!

Leave a Reply

